[SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 5:57 pm

glowrak guy wrote:Thanks for the clarification. For people who have not yet added
things like gdiplus, this is referred to as an 'override'.
The wine library .dll files will be in .wine/drive_c/windows/system32

Start winecfg, (it's the wine config gui)
In the winecfg library tab, there is
a simple gui area to select a windows .dll file that you have obtained,
(there are several dll download sites)
I rename the original, gdiplusDEFAULT so its easy to find in a filemanager,
then copy the real one using a filemanager gui.

Then in wine cfg library tab, type in the name of the .dll file,
omitting the .dll extension itself, and press the apply button.

I have installed the .dll overrides that Mk2 mentions
as part of getting other windows plugins
in a working state.

I use the latest wine-staging from wineHQ, and am very happy with the results.
This involves

fully removing all distro wine installs,
adding the wine-staging repository to your package manager repository list,
updating your package manager listing
installing wine-staging from the fresh listing
and then reinstalling any needed audio dependencies
that had to be removed while deleting the distro wine version.

The reaper linux forum has a good topic on using
windows plugins, among other related discussions.

Cheers

https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=52


yes that's it ! i forgot to mention i use wine-staging branch...

u notice that O2 is a bit slowest compared on windows, and that here on my pc the channel 1 wont work... only the channel 2 and upper seems working.

or maybe its just me :) but generally u use 1 chanel / track and no more than 3-4 channel together as it's heavy CPU consuming O2 lol.

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1423
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby glowrak guy » Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:36 pm

if you google up

omnisphere slow

you'll see that speed has also been a common problem
on the supported systems.

Maybe you can find some tips/solutions in the topics
from the big websites. I don't have Omnisphere myself,
very cool that you have it working. Plenty of rave
reviews regarding the sounds and uses.
Cheers

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:10 pm

glowrak guy wrote:if you google up

omnisphere slow

you'll see that speed has also been a common problem
on the supported systems.

Maybe you can find some tips/solutions in the topics
from the big websites. I don't have Omnisphere myself,
very cool that you have it working. Plenty of rave
reviews regarding the sounds and uses.
Cheers


i dont understand why this plugin cost 500x UHE Zebra......

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:12 pm

ALL MY hardwares synthetisers, all MY vsti are just SH*T !!!! compared to Omnisphere....................

seriously !

:lol:

edit: this plugin is the SAINT GRAAL....
Last edited by Mk2 on Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:14 pm

glowrak guy wrote:if you google up

omnisphere slow

you'll see that speed has also been a common problem
on the supported systems.

Maybe you can find some tips/solutions in the topics
from the big websites. I don't have Omnisphere myself,
very cool that you have it working. Plenty of rave
reviews regarding the sounds and uses.
Cheers


the speed of the sample section loading i think its meaning.... maybe it's better faster on a SSD,...

i would like to try but got to make a SSD partition resize (less win< more linux)
Last edited by Mk2 on Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:17 pm

i just finish to pay O2 today.... i paid in x3........... (138 € x3 exactly)

i just recommend to any one todo Electronica, it sounds much better than some (edit: almost all?) hardies.
Last edited by Mk2 on Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:20 pm

on windows i got it on SSD, not in Linux...

but i have to make partition my SSD,..................

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:22 pm

Mk2 wrote:i just finish to pay O2 today.... i paid in x3........... (138 € x3 exactly)

i just recommend to any one todo Electronica, it sounds much better than some (edit: almost all?) hardies.


for the story, i'm malad.... south wind FR.... i was obliged to go to bank deposit for to pay it.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Postby Mk2 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:25 pm

Mk2 wrote:on windows i got it on SSD, not in Linux...

but i have to make partition my SSD,..................


i go try
.... :)

i'm talking such like this plugin is amazing !


Return to “Running non-linux software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests