Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:00 pm

Hi,
I've installed Ubuntu Studio 15.04.
a Digidesign USB Mbox2 Mini is recognized and I can record with Audacity.
But I want to use Mbox with Ardour and I cannot.

What I did:
- I launched Ardour
- Ardour asked for the deviced: I've choosen Mbox
- A popup sayd: Could not reconnect to the Audio/MIDI engine

mhm... what should I do?

thanks in advance

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:54 pm

I've also tried to kill pulseaudio and start jack

Code: Select all

pulseaudio --kill


Code: Select all

jackd -t 200 -p 2048 -R -T -d alsa -n 2 -r 44100 -p 1024 -d hw:MBox,0


but

Code: Select all

jackdmp 1.9.10
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
Copyright 2004-2014 Grame.
jackdmp comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
no message buffer overruns
no message buffer overruns
no message buffer overruns
`default' server already active
Failed to open server

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:49 pm

falkTX wrote:If you're running ardour, you don't need to start jackd manually. Ardour will do that for you as needed.
Also if you only are going to use Ardour, consider using ALSA instead of JACK (within ardour)

Dear falkTX,
I've just installed Ubuntu Studio on my laptop as it is.
How can I use ALSA instead of JACK? If you give a look to the attachment, JACK is the only Audio System I can choose and ALSA as Driver is already choosen as otpion.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby rghvdberg » Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:35 pm

You should be able to click on the jack button and select alsa.
Before starting ardour stop jack from cadence.

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: [quite solved] Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:54 pm

I found out how to recordm but not how to hear with Ardour.
- Open QjackCtl
- Click on SetUp (Impostazioni): both input and output (dispositivo d'entrata e dispositivo d'uscita): hw:MBox
- Close SetUp
- Start JACK

- open Ardour
- create two new Tracks for the two audio line of MBox
- click on the record button on both tracks, on record button on the top-bar and then play... it'll record!

now I cannot hear any sound, that's the next problem.
I'll open a new topic...

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:20 pm

here the next question: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=17323#p83100

strangemusic
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: [quite solved] Mbox2 + Ardour on Ubuntu Studio

Postby strangemusic » Mon Jul 01, 2019 12:32 pm

I found out how to recordm but not how to hear with Ardour.
- Open QjackCtl
- Click on SetUp (Impostazioni): both input and output (dispositivo d'entrata e dispositivo d'uscita): hw:MBox
- Close SetUp
- Start JACK

- open Ardour
- create two new Tracks for the two audio line of MBox
- click on the record button on both tracks, on record button on the top-bar and then play... it'll record!

now I cannot hear any sound, that's the next problem.
I'll open a new topic...

not forget to switch the 48v in MBox if needed!
LED 48V
Questo LED, quando acceso, indica che l'alimentazione phantom a 48V è attiva negli ingressi Mic/Line. Questi ingressi forniscono alimentazione phantom ai microfoni che la richiedono. L'alimentazione Phantom viene attivata mediante l'interruttore 48V posto nella parte superiore del pannello posteriore di Mbox.


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 3 guests